Counting of votes for 81 Assembly seats in Jharkhand to take place today

Counting of votes for 81 Assembly seats in Jharkhand will take place today. The counting will start at 8 am in all the 24 district headquarters. Postal ballots will be counted first, followed by votes of EVMs. The maximum rounds of counting will take place at Chatra with 28 rounds and lowest round at two seats – Chandankyari and Torpa.Jawans of Central Para Military Forces are deployed at all the Counting centres. 

The hot seat, which will be the centre of attraction will be Jamshedpur East. Chief Minister Raghubar Das has been winning this seat since 1995. He is up against ex-cabinet colleague Saryu Rai. Saryu Rai turned rebellion after his ticket was put on hold by the party.
The other important seats are Dumka and Barhet from where JMM Executive President and former Chief Minister Hemant Sorenis contesting. He is pitted against Social Welfare Minister Louis Marandi at Dumka.

Former Chief Minister and Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajantarik (JVM-P) President Babulal Marandi is fighting from Dhanwar Assembly seat.
The AJSU President, who lost the 2014 Assembly poll, is trying his luck again from Silli seat.

Polling for the 81-member State Assembly took place in five phases between 30th of November and 20th of December. Both the BJP and the Congress alliance made their best efforts to woo the voters. The BJP is hoping to retain power in the state. In 2014, the BJP had won 37 seats, while its ally AJSU secured a win in five Assembly seats. However, the Opposition Grand Alliance led by Hemant Soren’s Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) which includes Congress and RJD, is hoping to unseat the BJP. Several NDA allies, including AJSU contested the Assembly polls on their own. Lok Janshakti Party and Janata Dal (United) also contested the polls solo.


News is information about current events. News is provided through many different media: word of mouth, printing, postal systems, broadcasting, electronic communication, and also on the testimony of observers and witnesses to events. It is also used as a platform to manufacture opinion for the population.

Contact Info

D 601  Riddhi Sidhi CHSL
Unnant Nagar Road 2
Kamaraj Nagar, Goreagaon West
Mumbai 400062 .

Email Id: [email protected]

West Bengal

Eastern Regional Office
Indsamachar Digital Media
Siddha Gibson 1,
Gibson Lane, 1st floor, R. No. 114,
Kolkata – 700069.
West Bengal.

Office Address

251 B-Wing,First Floor,
Orchard Corporate Park, Royal Palms,
Arey Road, Goreagon East,
Mumbai – 400065.

Download Our Mobile App

IndSamachar Android App IndSamachar IOS App
To Top
WhatsApp WhatsApp us