Total of 22 languages of India included in 8th Schedule to Constitution of India

A total of 22 languages of India are included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India. In a written reply in Lok Sabha today, Minister of State of Home Affairs Nityanand Rai that 14 languages were initially included in the Constitution on 26th January 1950.

He said Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali were included in the list of languages in the Eighth Schedule on 7 January 2004. There have been demands from time to time for the inclusion of 38 languages in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution, including Sambalpuri/Kosali, Garhwali and Kumaoni.

The minister informed that many of these languages are spoken in several states; therefore, their use is not restricted by State boundaries. He said at present there are no fixed criteria for any language to be considered for inclusion in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution.

News is information about current events. News is provided through many different media: word of mouth, printing, postal systems, broadcasting, electronic communication, and also on the testimony of observers and witnesses to events. It is also used as a platform to manufacture opinion for the population.

Contact Info

D 601  Riddhi Sidhi CHSL
Unnant Nagar Road 2
Kamaraj Nagar, Goreagaon West
Mumbai 400062 .

Email Id: [email protected]

West Bengal

Eastern Regional Office
Indsamachar Digital Media
Siddha Gibson 1,
Gibson Lane, 1st floor, R. No. 114,
Kolkata – 700069.
West Bengal.

Office Address

251 B-Wing,First Floor,
Orchard Corporate Park, Royal Palms,
Arey Road, Goreagon East,
Mumbai – 400065.

Download Our Mobile App

IndSamachar Android App IndSamachar IOS App
To Top
WhatsApp WhatsApp us