Strength test in Puducherry Assembly

The Congress coalition government led by Chief Minister Narayanasamy in the Union Territory of Puducherry has been plunged into a deep political crisis following the resignation of the legislators. The special thing is that just before the power test, two more MLAs have resigned. Because of this Narayanasamy’s tension has increased further. They have to gain confidence by 5 pm today.

A special session has been called in the Assembly on the direction of the Lieutenant Governor, Dr. Tamilisai Aestheticrajan. There will be a power test to win the confidence and for that Chief Minister Narayanasamy has reached the Vidhan Bhavan. Meanwhile, two more MLAs of the ruling party have sent the resignation to the Speaker. These include one Congress MLA and one DMK MLA. The number of MLAs of the Congress-DMK alliance is 11, including the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the number will be 9 if both the MLAs accept the resignation. At the same time, the party has the support of two Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-DMK and one independent member of the House.

Current Party Status in Legislative Assembly

The Legislative Assembly currently has 26 members, of which, the government has 11 MLAs – a task by majority. It includes the Speaker, a Congress MLA, but they cannot vote unless there is a tie. The opposition has 14 MLAs – 7 from NR Congress, 4 from AIADMK and 3 nominated MLAs who are members of BJP. Chief Minister Narayanasamy says that the nominated legislators do not have the power to vote in the motion of no confidence.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

13 − one =

News is information about current events. News is provided through many different media: word of mouth, printing, postal systems, broadcasting, electronic communication, and also on the testimony of observers and witnesses to events. It is also used as a platform to manufacture opinion for the population.

Contact Info

D 601  Riddhi Sidhi CHSL
Unnant Nagar Road 2
Kamaraj Nagar, Goreagaon West
Mumbai 400062 .

Email Id: [email protected]

West Bengal

Eastern Regional Office
Indsamachar Digital Media
Siddha Gibson 1,
Gibson Lane, 1st floor, R. No. 114,
Kolkata – 700069.
West Bengal.

Office Address

251 B-Wing,First Floor,
Orchard Corporate Park, Royal Palms,
Arey Road, Goreagon East,
Mumbai – 400065.

Download Our Mobile App

IndSamachar Android App IndSamachar IOS App
To Top
WhatsApp WhatsApp us