EC to announce schedule for Assembly Polls in UP, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa & Manipur today

The Election Commission will announce the schedule for Assembly elections in five states today at 3.30 PM in New Delhi. The states are Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur. The term of Goa Legislative Assembly is ending on 15th March this year, Manipur Assembly on 19th March, Uttarakhand and Punjab Legislative Assembly on 23rd March and Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly on 14th May this year.

In the last few days, the commission had held separate meetings with Union Home Secretary and Union Health Secretary for s on Law and Order, deployment of Paramilitary personnel and on the COVID situation as well as vaccination status in the five poll-bound states. Inputs of the medical experts have been taken on the safety measures to be ensured during the election process.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission has enhanced the existing election expenditure limit for candidates in Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies. These limits will be applicable in all upcoming elections. The ceiling on Parliamentary poll expenditure has been raised from 70 lakh to 95 lakh rupees in bigger states and 54 lakh to 75 lakhs in smaller states. The bigger states include Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Karnataka and the smaller states include Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and the Union Territories.

The ceiling on poll expenditure in UT of Jammu and Kashmir has been raised to 95 lakhs. For Assembly Constituencies, expenditure limits have been enhanced from 28 lakh rupees 40 lakh rupees in bigger states and from 20 lakhs to 28 lakhs in smaller states.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

13 + 16 =

News is information about current events. News is provided through many different media: word of mouth, printing, postal systems, broadcasting, electronic communication, and also on the testimony of observers and witnesses to events. It is also used as a platform to manufacture opinion for the population.

Contact Info

D 601  Riddhi Sidhi CHSL
Unnant Nagar Road 2
Kamaraj Nagar, Goreagaon West
Mumbai 400062 .

Email Id: [email protected]

West Bengal

Eastern Regional Office
Indsamachar Digital Media
Siddha Gibson 1,
Gibson Lane, 1st floor, R. No. 114,
Kolkata – 700069.
West Bengal.

Office Address

251 B-Wing,First Floor,
Orchard Corporate Park, Royal Palms,
Arey Road, Goreagon East,
Mumbai – 400065.

Download Our Mobile App

IndSamachar Android App IndSamachar IOS App
To Top
WhatsApp WhatsApp us